

To: Members of the Welsh Language

Steering Committee

Date: 12 December 2017

Direct Dial: 01824 712589

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the WELSH LANGUAGE STEERING COMMITTEE to be held at 10.00 am on MONDAY, 18 DECEMBER 2017 in CONFERENCE ROOM 1B, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN.

Yours sincerely

G. Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

AGENDA

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business to be conducted at this meeting.

3 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR

To appoint a Chair of the Committee for the current municipal year.

4 APPOINTMENT OF VICE CHAIR

To appoint a Vice Chair of the Committee for the current municipal year.

5 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

6 STRATEGIC WELSH LANGUAGE DEVELOPMENT (Pages 5 - 8)

To consider a report by the Team Leader – Communications and Campaign Management (copy enclosed) detailing the work carried out in relation to the strategic development of the Welsh Language in Denbighshire, in line with national legislation and the Council's own Welsh Language Strategy.

7 WELSH IN EDUCATION STRATEGIC PLAN 2017 - 2020 (Pages 9 - 26)

To consider a report by the Principal Education Support Manager (copy enclosed) presenting the Council's proposed Welsh in Education Strategic Plan 2017 – 2020 and detailing the work undertaken to date pending formal approval from the Welsh Government.

8 MORE THAN WORDS FRAMEWORK (Pages 27 - 28)

To consider a report by the Staff Development Officer (copy enclosed) informing members of the progress made in relation to development of the Mwy Na Geiriau / More Than Words Framework.

9 FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 29 - 30)

To consider the committee's forward work programme (copy attached).

MEMBERSHIP

Councillor Ellie Chard
Councillor Ann Davies
Councillor Tony Flynn
Councillor Huw Hilditch-Roberts
Councillor Paul Penlington
Councillor Arwel Roberts

Councillor Anton Sampson Councillor Tony Thomas Councillor Graham Timms Councillor Joe Welch Councillor Emrys Wynne

COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils